The Root

I often say things that cause people to look at me as if I were insane. I have been told that I am talking out of my… you know what. I’ve noticed that many more women are offended by the things I say than men. This has always been perplexing to me as these things I say would not have even needed to be said forty years ago. They would have “gone without saying”. They were just common sense. What the heck (WTH)?

For a long time I have just figured most women didn’t like me for whatever reason. I didn’t know if it was my smile or what but I just accepted it and moved on. I have always been a risk taker. I have the desire to move forward and get more. Heck, I’m a mechanic by trade and now here I am doing this on my own dime. Is that a risk? Is that a risk you are willing to take. I think most Americans are risk takers. Or at least descended from risk takers. You have got to risk something to get ahead, and the more you risk the more you seem to get.

In the sixties people were going out on a limb all the time. John DeLorean comes to mind. He IS the man behind the GTO. Did you know that? The machine that was GM got sick of him and away he went. Next thing you know he builds an iconic automobile. Lee Iacocca is not my first choice for man of the decade (or even the day) but you have to admit he got a lot done. He took some risks and they paid off handsomely. Why do my examples always go to the auto industry? Refer to paragraph two sentence five.

So anyway, I’m listening to Limbaugh, as I often do, and he’s saying something about some poll by someone named Celinda Lake. See that here. And the word is that she ran a poll to see what women really want. That was the catch line. The real story is, as it relates to the economy. The truth is scary. See it here. That’s right, a full 70% would pick security over opportunity. In my words, they would sell their souls for safety.

Oh, you guys out there are pointing and laughing aren’t you? Well, the survey said 54% of men would do the same thing. I can only hope this is a survey of the French, Democrats, libs, or all three. This is telling me that the majority out there would sell their souls for safety and the only thing standing between me and wearing bubble wrap from the cradle to the grave is the Constitution. God bless Thomas Jefferson and the boys.

So there you have it. The root. This is what has our country in the shape it’s in. Too many of you are afraid to do anything. You want GM and GE to do it all for you. And when the gubmint puts too many restrictions on the risk takers you want the gubmint to give you a block of cheese and some food stamps. For the FIRST time in my life I know what shame Michelle Obama was talking about. Until next time, screw environmentalists.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment