Gubmint Money

I’m thinking about starting a business. The gubmint gives out money for that sort of thing don’t they? I was thinking of starting a junkyard. It seems like everything turns into junk sooner or later so that would probably be a going concern. I wonder what you have to do to get a subsidy? I think this would be advantageous to the public and I think that’s the only prerequisite to get a subsidy.

It would certainly be much more advantageous than Amtrak. And they have been getting subsidized since day one and, they have never made a nickel. I am pretty sure I could do better than that.

The Public Broadcasting System (PBS) is another one that eats up subsidies and spits out crap. I think the only thing they can point to that doesn’t offend someone is Sesame Street and I have never seen it so I don’t know, I just have not heard anything negative about it.

How about we revisit National Public Radio (NPR)? Now there’s a real crapper. I have tried to listen to it but I could never stomach anything for more than a few days. It’s like they have the Midas touch only with feces. Everything they touch turns to crap. And I think they work almost entirely on subsidies.

So now let me ask you, does General Motors (GM) work on subsidies now? I don’t know. I heard they were getting money. Then I heard they were paying it back. Now I’m hearing that they paid it back with more borrowed money. I give up. Who really knows?

Another good one is Chrysler. I remember when they got the original bailout. Lee Iacocca was in charge of that. Everybody said he was a real good con-man. I have always thought that they should have gone out of business. That was either right before or right after American Motors (AMC) went out of business. Nobody came running out to them with a bailout. At the time I think they had better models than Chrysler. I know I own a Chrysler and it has never been in a wind tunnel. That thing makes the craziest noises going down the road.

I guess what I’m getting at here is that I think that if it needs a subsidy it should not exist. Amtrak? No. PBS? No. NPR? No. I think we could do just fine without them. GM, too big to fail? Can we get by without them? I think so. Chrysler? Let them fail. How can I say this? I believe the car companies are, and have been, too big for too long. I think smaller, more localized companies should be doing the job. Oh well. Until next time, screw environmentalists.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment