Extremely Lucky

I’m going to take a risk here and talk about something other than my usual rants. I’m going to talk about family. I just got done watching that fishing show about the crab guys in Alaska. The particular show I watched featured four sets of brothers, one of them a father with two sons working together. Not very many of them seemed to appreciate the full rarity of their arrangement.

Here’s the ugly truth as I have observed it. You almost never get to work with who you want or do what you want. Almost without fail if you’re doing what you like nobody you know wants to do that. Think about it. A lot of your friends you met at work but you didn’t know them before hand and say I want to work with them doing that. Like wise I know a lot of people who have taken jobs with their relatives or friends only to be miserable but employed. Hating what they do every waking hour. And they usually end up hating their friends or relatives as well. Now that’s got to hurt. Third case scenario is really ugly. Unfortunately it think it describes the majority of people out there. They work for and with people they hate or don’t like doing something they hate or don’t like. That’s why most heart attacks occur on Monday mornings. People going to jobs they hate with people they don’t care for.

You see, if I had my way I would own a junk yard and my entire family would work it with me. I mean Aunts and Uncles, Cousins and Siblings, Moms and Dads, Grandmas and Grandpas, Inlaws and Outlaws, all of them. Every one. Worse than that we would all live in a house together like Southfork or something. And every position we had to fill would be filled by my old friends. But you know what? That just didn’t happen. I think in my entire lifetime I only worked with someone I knew before hand and liked, at a job I liked, twice. And both times were great. Neither job was what you would call a real career but I would still be doing both had things lasted. Both fell apart due to circumstances beyond our control.

So, I think the best way to proceed is to try to make sure you like what you’re doing and especially to like who you’re doing it with. Otherwise you’ll be visiting the ER some Monday morning. Until next time, screw environmentalists.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

