Affording Fuel

The gubmint puts out these whack reports every now and then. I don’t know what they’re called but I’ll give you a few examples here, here and here. As you can see they’re designed to mislead and confuse you. I think they call it the consumer price index which means absolutely nothing to me. But here’s what I see in there, and I’m hearing this stuff all the time like everybody knows how it affects everything.

First they tell me that housing is costing X amount of dollars. Then they continue on and tell me that fuel is Y amount then they go on with food being Z amount, and they go through the whole gammit of life itemizing everything with an amount attached to it. When they are finished they tell me nothing that makes any sense to me. So I wade through one of these things and I come up with no real answers for myself or anyone else. So I’ll just tell you how I see it.

The first thing that catches my eye is the housing number. WTH? I bought my house and paid a certain amount and the rate is fixed on the mortgage I gave the bank so their number is already suspect. Next, the fuel prices are changing as we speak so where do they get this info. It must be a slice in time so it’s already outdated and worthless. Now frequency comes into play. I but food much more often than I buy fuel. And I buy fuel much more often than I buy houses.

This is getting us nowhere. So, I went back and went through it again. The questions got even more disturbing. What seasonal factors are they adjusting for? Now this is right from their report, ‘The CPI is a statistical estimate that is subject to sampling error because it is based upon a sample of retail prices and not the complete universe of all prices.’ The complete universe of all prices? What are they trying to do here? Be vague ar deceitful? I think that’s pretty bad when you can’t even tell how they are doing whatever it is they are trying to do to you.

Now Chairman Zero, he likes this. He’s happy were being shafted on these oil prices. He’s said it before, see that here. He just wanted it to happen a little slower. Read that ‘get ready to pay’. So here’s what I came up with. Zero hates us just because we are Americans. The people selling us the oil hate us because we are Americans. As a result they are charging us these giant prices. As the joke goes we should be charging them giant prices for the food so it all equals out, but I digress. So, because they are charging us the giant prices because they hate us, is it a hate crime. Until next time, screw environmentalists.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

