Racing Fuel

Did you watch the Daytona 500 yesterday? I drifted in and out for the duration while I actually got other things done. I’m not a staunch fan but I do enjoy it from time to time but these restrictor plate races are usually for the birds. I didn’t think they were going to be able to finish. They just kept wrecking. I remember years ago somewhere they wrecked a whole bunch of times, like five, resulting in the rule where they only do it three times now. THREE TIMES. Not too inspiring, huh? Well, the kid that won was only twenty years old. They had to give the champagne to his parents I guess.

But the reason I’m writing is because they were using 15% ethanol. Haven’t the France’s (that would be the family in charge of NASCAR last I heard) gotten the word from Algore yet? You would think they would be among the first to abandon that crap instead they are going the other way. As I said, I am not a staunch fan but this has got me thinking about a complete boycott.

I really would have thought Brian France would have more on the ball than his father, Bill France, Jr., but no. Here it is straight from their own site. There’s a lot of rhetoric in there about “environmental leader” and “long-term sustainability”. What the heck are they talking about? This was released in October of 2010. Here‘s the facts on mileage (third article down). It’s 34% worse. How is that being a leader or sustainable. That even hurts the racing teams (like the France family ever gave a crap about that) with more pit stops.

Again, how is burning MORE fuel long-term sustainability? Especially when it’s made from a food product that is suddenly in short supply because every farmer out there wants that gubmint subsidy for growing corn for ethanol. Stupid makes me sick. This article says that ethanol will increase the very greenhouse gasses that the libs blat about. What the heck? How stupid does it have to get before we start hearing some sense?

The France family must be doing something right. NASCAR seems to be a going concern but it’s just not for my taste anymore. Restrictor plates were bad enough now with this green fuel crap I think I’m done with it. They were complaining about it burning hotter and with the gay way they race (nose in butt) the cars heating up is becoming a factor in the strategy. How sick is that? Well, at least my favorite racing hasn’t been corrupted yet. John Force will soon be at the Gatornationals and looking for a fifteenth, or is it sixteenth championship. 330 mph and no ethanol. Until next time, screw environmentalists.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

