Deadliest Catch

As I have stated before, I am not a big fan of the little screen. Or the big screen. Or anything Hollyweed. Dirty shame about Lindsey Lohan, huh? My heart bleeds. Anyway, I’m watching this program one night and it’s that show, “Deadliest Catch”. A friend recommended it and I was just laying back so I turned the thing on and started surfing and I come across this so I watch it.

First I must admit, it’s not your typical Babe Winkleman or whatever so that was pleasing. And I’ve always liked Mike Rowe. So these people are trapping crab somewhere near Russia and they get about half way through this thing and they tell us that this is the end of an era. Yeah, no more derby style fishing. Now I don’t know about you but I needed clarification on what they were telling me.

Well, as Mike Rowe continued to break it down for me I realize, “Oh, Alaska Fish and Wildlife (AFW) has just socialized crab fishing.” I know what you’re thinking, WTF is he talking about? Well you see, derby style fishing means that there is an allotment of crab available for a season. When that’s caught that’s it, season over. So he who fishes best wins. In a nutshell, derby style fishing.

So what has AFW done? I’m glad you asked. They will now set the allotment, as before. They will set the season time, as before. Only now they will take the allotment and divide it by the number of participants and that’s all you can catch in a season. Gay as soccer, wouldn’t you agree? Where’s the incentive to excel in that? Another industry driven awry by bureau weenies. Oh well, until next time, screw environmentalists.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

