Archive for May 7th, 2010

Constitution Pt. 22

May 7, 2010

Article VII. The Ratification of the Conventions of nine States, shall be sufficient for the Establishment of this Constitution between the States so ratifying the Same.

done in Convention by the Unanimous Consent of the States present the Seventeenth Day of September in the Year of our Lord one thousand seven hundred and Eighty seven and of the Independence of the United States of America the Twelfth In Witness whereof We have hereunto subscribed our Names,

G. Washington-Presid. and deputy from Virginia

New Hampshire

John Langdon

Nicholas Gilman


Nathaniel Gorham

Rufus King


Wm. Saml. Johnson

Roger Sherman

New York

Alexander Hamilton

New Jersey

Wil. Livingston

David Brearley

Wm. Paterson

Jona. Dayton


B. Franklin

Thomas Mifflin

Robt Morris

Geo. Clymer

Thos. Fitzsimons

Jared Ingersoll

James Wilson

Gouv Morris


Geo. Read

Gunning Bedford jun

John Dickinson

Richard Bassett

Jaco: Broom


James McHenry

Dan of St Thos. Jenifer

Danl Carroll


John Blair-

James Madison Jr.

North Carolina

Wm. Blount

Richd. Dobbs Spaight

Hu Williamson

South Carolina

J. Rutledge

Charles Cotesworth Pinckney

Charles Pinckney

Pierce Butler


William Few

Abr Baldwin

Attest William Jackson Secretary

Isn’t that awesome? There it is, signed by these men and ready for the convention. Next time we’ll look at the convention then we’ll move on to the Amendments. That will get real interesting. As always if you have questions leave them in the comments.