Spare The Rod

Here it is from Proverbs, chapter 23, verses 13 & 14. 13) Withhold not correction from the child: for if thou beatest him with the rod, he shall not die. 14) Thou shalt beat him with the rod, and shalt deliver his soul from hell.

Funny. I read the whole chapter just to be sure, but I didn’t see anything about his self-esteem. It almost seems like God is more concerned about the child’s soul going to hell than he is about his self-esteem. Oddly enough I beat my kids and they don’t seem to have any self-esteem problems whatsoever. In fact they seem to think quite highly of themselves. How can this be?

I remember once being called to one of my kids school for a conference and they said my kid had bruses on it’s butt and asked me why. I told them probably because I gave them whooping. Well they came unglued and threatened to get all kinds of agencies involved. I told them to put them in foster care for a while and see how that works out for them and got up and walked out. I never heard from them again.

What we have now is a whole generation of people coming of age with giant egos and no discipline (Obama). The children of free love hippies. Jeremiah Wright may have been right when he said our chickens are coming home to roost. He just didn’t know which chickens.

I know I have run into some of these soccer moms and yuppie types that made me think of the Eagles song “Get Over It” when they say, “I’d like to find your inner child and kick its little ass. GET OVER IT!”

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

