Net Neutral

What does net neutrality mean? Does anybody really know? I read several articles about it and I still am not sure. From what I read internet service providers (ISP’s) are intentionally slowing down our service. DUH! I thought if you paid for the high speed stuff you got the high speed stuff but if you were like me and went as cheap as possible you got the Yugo of service. I have the nine dollar a month special from my cable company and still it’s quite quick.

At any rate the net neutrality law will make this stop as near as I can figure. Also the ISP’s are directing our traffic to their services instead of the ones we choose. That don’t sound right. It almost makes me want to become a hacker or something so I can run all over the internet doing whatever I please.

Here’s the thing. For most of us our ISP is pretty much a monopoly like the utility companies. You have one choice and maybe one or two half baked alternatives. For this reason any regulation of their activities will probably be a good thing. But, as we all know, when the gubmint gets involved with anything it goes right down the toilet.

One thing puzzles me though, it seems to apply to ISP’s more than anybody else and some of them are for it and some of them are against it.This always leads me to suspect trouble. If anything is so complicated that nobody really seems to understand it, is it really something we want to do without reading the 1,250 page bill first? (number fabricated for purposes of this article)

For a pretty good break down check this link http://reason.com/blog/2009/10/21/net-neutrality-a-brief-primer

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

