Sexist

How about a sexist? Do you know where that comes from? Merriam-Webster’s online dictionary says it dates to 1968 and the etymology is “sex + ism (as in racism)”. The definitions are; “1 : prejudice or discrimination based on sex; especially : discrimination against women”, and  “2 : behavior, conditions, or attitudes that foster stereotypes of social roles based on sex”. That part, “especially : discrimination against women”, does that mean women can’t be sexist. I know a woman who doesn’t like doctors that are not men. She just feels that they do not have to support their family so they are not as commited. Is that sexist? You bet it is.

When I was young I opened doors for women. I also opened doors for anybody that was entering a building at the same time as I was. I have walked through doors opened by women for me as we both entered a building. I think it’s just kind of a courtesy to hold the door. And if you’re not in a hurry you let them through first, but if you’re in a hurry you hold it behind you and move on about your business. It’s a case by case basis I guess, and people can usually tell if you’re in a hurry or not and act accordingly. One day I was not in a hurry and I opened the door for this woman to go through in front of me and she kicked my hand. Who was sexist in that situation?

Why didn’y Hillary get the nomination? Do you think that was sexism on the part of the Democrats? Or did they not want to be racist? Or, was Chairman Zero simply the best they had to offer?

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

