Racist

So, I hear a little of the Glenn Beck show this morning and he’s talking about Kanye West and how he might be a racist. I’m thinking, “Who?” Later I hear a few minutes of the Rush Limbaugh show and he is saying that Obama is racist for calling West a jackass. It occurs to me, what do people think a racist is? I think there are a lot of misconceptions out there about what constitutes a racist.

First this notion that Limbaugh was illustrating, that only white people can be racist, is wrong. Also the idea that West is a racist may also be wrong. I have never heard of the guy and until today I have never even heard him speak, but the audio that I heard sounded like a guy who was, as he stated, drunk, and truly thought that his candidate was the better choice. I don’t think he was operating under the assumption that one race was superior to another only that one entertainer was superior to another. I could be wrong, as I said, I don’t know anything of the guy.

According to Webster’s, racism is “a thought or belief that one race is better than another race”. This is the true and honest skinny on this. Anybody can be a racist. I believe that Jesse Jackson is extremely racist, I believe that he has based his livelyhood on promoting racism. I believe that everyone is somewhat racist. Everybody has that deep dark thought now and then and that is the key. Thought. If you had the thought, no matter how fleeting you are racist. The idea is to get past it and get over it. We all live together here and getting over it is key. How do you see this?

Tags: , , , , , ,

One Response to “Racist”

  1. RayRay Says:

    I totally agree with you when you say that everybody is somewhat racist. A little. Everybody. We all have our generalisations and preconceptions of people. It is not an excuse however. We can do our best not to let those get in the way and we can do our best to educate ourselves. But everyone is on a scale of racism.

    Incidentally, I write a blog and I too am apparently a racist.

    http://raysadri.wordpress.com/2009/10/17/by-geroge-there%e2%80%99s-a-black-kid-in-town/ Is this racist? Have your say

Leave a Reply

