Hypocrisy

I just got back from the local tea party and it appeared that a splendid time was had by all. It was extremely hot but there was still quite a large turn out. I enjoyed it but I came away with something nagging at me. I just had to wonder how many people really get it. I mean they had enthusiasm and they seemed to applaud at all the appropriate times. The problem is that I had to leave a little early and as I was going to my car I noticed an alarming amount of foreign scrap in the parking lot.

I realize that many of these road hazards are ASSembled in this country but when you buy one the cabbage goes overseas to increase our trade deficit. The argument that you bought it used doesn’t fly either, because that just increases their resale value, thank you very much. How can you in good conscience drive up to the local protest to stand up for America in your Toyota? When the hippies in the sixties and seventies went to the local protest for communism they darn sure drove Toyotas, Hondas and Volkswagens. The only American cars you might have seen were old Cadillacs that had been hearses. At least they had conviction.

So the next time you hop in your foreign road hazard maybe you should fondle the genuine imitation plastic teakwood trim and ponder the damage you have had on the American economy. Think about your part in the Chrysler and GM bankruptcies. Look at the homeless guy on the corner and wonder what auto union he is retired from.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a comment